Why would a content writer hire a content writer?

I’ve run into this situation more than once. An author hires me to write for him or a marketing business hires me to do some of their marketing. At first, it seemed odd to me. Why would a marketing agency outsource its marketing…and more importantly, why would a writer pay someone to write?

For some of you the answer might be apparent. I had to think about it for a while. You see, I’m one of those people that’s obsessed with doing-it-myself. I fix my own car, I tile my own bathroom, I make my own banner ads. If I had a sewing machine, I’d probably make my own clothes. My condition is a mixture of knowing that I can do anything (with the right tools and book or two), a passion for learning new skills and wanting things done exactly how I want them. Hell, this is probably why im single most of the time. It’s so much more effecient to date myself.

However…I’m not normal. One of the lessons I’ve had to learn over the years is that most people pass the work along whenever they can. In fact, I’ve heard that one of the advantages to having money is that you can pay people to do damn near anything for you, leaving your time free to do whatever people with money do (I assume shop for monocles and hunt human beings for sport, but I’ll have to get back to you on that.)

The advantages to outsourcing work:

  • You save time. If you’re already moving on to your next project, you don’t want to waste time writing ad copy for the thing you just finished.
  • You don’t have to worry about it. You’re stressed enough after finishing that novel and you just want to relax before your next manuscript is due.
  • You don’t have to learn a new set of skills. Some people don’t want to research media kits for a week just because they need to make one. If you can afford it, it’s easier to pay someone that does it for a living to make it for you.
  • It lends a different voice to the work. Sometimes it pays when your web content looks unique from your blog or fiction writing.
  • It can be hard to write something that touches close to home. One of the hardest things about writing my media kit and promotion materials was writing about myself as if I weren’t myself.

With this new information and a growing business, I’ve started outsourcing as well. I’ve hired people to do some of my graphic design work…and it was for a reason not listed above. I genuinely liked their work and didn’t want to try to duplicate it myself.

What this boils down to is:

  1. While it’s likely not going to be your target market, don’t pass up on advertising your services to industry contemporaries.
  2. Don’t be ashamed to outsource some of your work. At some point, it will become more profitable anyway, so you might as well get used to it.

For instance, I charge about $50 to write and publish press releases. You can certainly write your own and publish them yourself, but you would have to invest the hours needed to write it, create accounts with the various PR services, and you might even have to research how to write one before you even get started. If you take more four hours to do all of this, you probably would have been better off hiring a service to do it for you. Time is an investment, same as money, and they are not mutually exclusive concepts.

Think about it next time you need a marketing or graphic design task taken care of. As a writer, is your time better spent learning how to complete the task and doing it yourself…or is it better spent writing?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jpaulroe

Freelance writer and content producer.

One response to “Why would a content writer hire a content writer?”

  1. jpaulroe says :

    Reblogged this on Rich Friend, Poor Friend and commented:

    Writing Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

